Constitution of Governing Body and Register of Interests

Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards. The role of the governing body is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school. Time and time again Ofsted (the national inspection body for schools) has noted that the most effective schools demonstrate effective leadership and management - including by the governing body.

Our Governing Body has a range of duties and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement. Its responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

  • Setting targets for pupil achievement
  • Managing the school’s finances
  • Making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • Appointing staff Reviewing staff performance and pay
Chair of the Governing Body is Mrs Sally Oliver
Vice Chair of the Governing Body is Mrs Louise Doyle
We currently have two Governing Body committees, with membership as follows:
Finance and Resources Committee:
Jane Ramsay; Louise Doyle; Elaine Wright; Sandy Lawson; Jude Nutt
Teaching and Learning Committee:
Sally Oliver, Jane Ramsay; Jeff McCartney; Craig Richardson; Scott Robson; Paul Leedham
The following governors have specific responsibilities:
Maths             - Sally Oliver
Assessment     - Craig Richardson
Safeguarding - John Ray
Pupil Premium - Jeff McCartney
Governor CPD - Scott Robson
A more detailed list of our Governing Body, their responsibilities and pecuniary interests is detailed below.